DD-WRT on AirLink AR430W troubles

a long time ago Fry’s had the Airlink AR430W for $10. I thought it was trash, but I found out a few months later that people have been able to get DD-WRT onto it. back then it was with DD-WRT v24 RC5, and now I’m trying it with the finalized v24.

it pretty much has to be done from a linux machine – I used Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon). and these instructions: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=182563

packages: putty, tftp, tftpd, xinetd.
putty inserts the proper ^C as you need it within a certain time window to get to the redboot prompt on the router.

it was a bit confusing to me what they meant by

4. Create the directory /tftpboot.
a. sudo mkdir /tftproot

as far as I knew, I just created both directories (using sudo of course) and downloaded the files into /tftpboot because that was the directory specified within /etc/xinetd.d/tftp.

after doing the next few steps i configured the ethernet interface:

sudo ifconfig 192.168.20.80 up

and started pinging the router (even though it is off):

ping 192.168.20.81

and had the putty telnet session ready to hit enter:

putty –P 9000 –telnet 192.168.20.81

while holding the reset button I powered on the router and the destination host was unreachable (unconnected network end), but it returned a single packet before timing out again. i tried several times and failed to start the telnet session in that miniscule timing window, before I let it sit there and pondered why it was so difficult.

“ping: sendmsg: Network is unreachable” (yay for proper use of perror) for several more packets – at least 20-30. then it started returning successful pings and I realized that the device was still booting up, and has boot up. at that point I entered the putty command and got into redboot.

i proceeded to enter load ap61.ram but got an error:

RedBoot> load ap61.ram
Using default protocol (TFTP)
__udp_sendto: Can't find address of server
Can't load 'ap61.ram': some sort of network error

after several (5-8) attempts of doing that same thing, and quitting for a few days (headache #1!), I realized that I was losing my static IP somehow during the process. I re-ran the ifconfig command and attempted to load ap61.ram again, only to get a different error message:

RedBoot> load ap61.ram
Using default protocol (TFTP)
TFTP timed out 1/15
TFTP timed out 2/15
Entry point: 0x800410bc, address range: 0x80041000-0x800680d8

and that began headache #2.

following directions isn’t working, and making slight alterations given these error messages isn’t helping either. this is taking a lot longer than i expected it to, but the more problems I run into, the more I get out of it. I shall update later on progress!

Leave a Reply

