ln(1) madness

My roommate and I always have a hard time with the arguments for this command.
We generally just use it for symbolic links.

ln(1) - make links between files
ln [OPTION]... [-T] TARGET LINK_NAME
Create a link to TARGET with the name LINK_NAME. Create hard links by default, symbolic links with --symbolic. When creating hard links, each TARGET must exist.

The problem is that we learned it when the manpages had it as SOURCE and DESTINATION or something like that. I swear it did. We always got them mixed up because the “source” could be the existing file and the “destination” could be the new link, or vice versa – “source” being the new link and “destination” being the existing file.

Now that I’m writing a blogpost about how I never memorized which one goes first and how I confuse them all the time, I understand it.. yay.

Leave a Reply

