Broken CHIPSBNK 1gb USB drive – recovered!

Okay, well… not the data. I don’t keep important data on USB drives anyhow; it’s a horrible idea.

I somehow hosed up the USB drive to the point where the BIOS (and consequently, OS) wouldn’t even recognize it. It’d just keep blinking. I’ve plugged it in 20 or so times now and decided to randomly plug it into my Seagate Dockstar. It recognized it as a 8MB capacity flash drive with 1 RAW 8MB partition.

# /sbin/fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 8 MB, 8388608 bytes
1 heads, 16 sectors/track, 1024 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16 * 512 = 8192 bytes

Disk /dev/sda doesn't contain a valid partition table

I thought.. okay. Maybe I can use fdisk to force the head/sector/cylinder count.

Pogoplug:~$ /sbin/fdisk
BusyBox v1.7.0 (2008-02-26 19:25:17 IST) multi-call binary

Usage: fdisk [-luv] [-C CYLINDERS] [-H HEADS] [-S SECTORS] [-b SSZ] DISK

Change partition table

Options:
-l List partition table(s)
-u Give Start and End in sector (instead of cylinder) units
-s PARTITION Give partition size(s) in blocks
-b 2048 (for certain MO disks) use 2048-byte sectors
-C CYLINDERS Set the number of cylinders
-H HEADS Set the number of heads
-S SECTORS Set the number of sectors
-v Give fdisk version

Pogoplug:~$

The problem is I don’t know which values to use :P. So I came across this thread and found a utility called UMPTOOL that sorta just does everything. It figured out the controller and flash on my USB stick and all I had to do was hit the “go” button and it “fixed” everything. I now have a proper disk layout and partition table and can use it again… hooray.

I’m thinking about using it for ITG2, but I think I actually care about the integrity of that data…

So here’s how it happened… it was holding a Ubuntu image (the image “burned” onto the stick, that is, so I can boot from it) and I decided to take it to an arcade to save my ITG2 data for the first time. After I was done playing I pulled out my stick but I don’t know if the system unmounted it correctly. I don’t even know if it supports non-FAT partitions (and what does a Ubuntu USB stick use? ext4?) but it claimed to write correctly. When I got home I plugged it in and attempted to format it, knowing that there was stuff I didn’t want on it, but that failed, and… on the next boot, it just kept flashing.

2 Responses to “Broken CHIPSBNK 1gb USB drive – recovered!”

  1. Maxi Says:

    Three hours of searches on Google, downloading programs, reading forums, and failed attempts to solve my problem, have been worth it, thank you sir, now I have my (8 mb before) USB drive with 4 gb fully functional, many Thank you.

  2. richard1989 Says:

    all tools http://www.usbdev.ru/files/chipsbank/
    Site in Russian, use Google Translate

Leave a Reply

